Contours without a Custom Node

john

27 Jul, 2020 06:46 AM

Even after all these years I am still learning new tricks from other users on the forum.

One of the things not built-in to NodeBox is a node which can extract individual contours from a multi-contoured path. Multiple contours most commonly occur in text paths like the letter "a". One closed path describes the outer shape of the letter; a separate, unconnected path describes the bowl inside the letter (or the dot atop a lower case j ). If you resample such paths or manipulate them in other ways, the contours are usually lost and you end up with an unsightly line connecting the inside of a letter with its outside.

You can solve this problem with a single line of Python code wrapped in a custom node. Frederik supplied such a node years ago and I included it in my node library because it is so essential. But I prefer not to use custom nodes unless I have no other choice. They are a slight pain to deal with and will generate errors if you forget to include them when distributing a network or change your file path. It's also an interesting challenge finding ways of doing things entirely within NodeBox.

I spent months looking for another way to split a path into its constituent contours, but was never able to crack it. Then, a few weeks ago, I stumbled onto an old network by veteran NodeBoxer Rioch containing a node that performs this miracle.

The trick is to do a lookup on the contours property. When you do this, you get a comma-separated list of references to internal NodeBox contour pointers. I was aware of this, but thought you couldn't do much with them; they just generate errors if you hook them to anything else.